Alaska’s Ballot Measure 2 has been approved by 52% state voters. Adults can now possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana and/or grow no more than 6 cannabis plants for their personal, untaxed, personal use.
Alaskan residents may also be eligible to apply for a Medical Marijuana Registry Card. Patients who are in need of medical marijuana have the right to legally use and cultivate cannabis under the conditions set out above.
Possessing Cannabis in Alaska
Alaskan adults over 21 years old are permitted to possess one ounce of marijuana. Growers can grow up to six marijuana plants. Three of these must be in the mature stage of their growth. A single individual may have less than 3 grams of hash or other concentrates.
Sharing or gifting marijuana is legal as long as the recipient is 21 years old or older and has less than six plans. Only Alaska state-licensed facilities are allowed to sell cannabis.
For violating Alaska’s marijuana laws, there are penalties.
- Possession of less than a quart of an ounce – Misdemeanor
- Possession of more that 4 ounces is a felony
- Possession within 500ft of schools (any amount) – Felony
- Intent to distribute less that one ounce – Misdemeanor
- Intent to distribute more that one ounce – Felony
Consuming marijuana in public or distributing it to anyone under 21 is a violation of Alaska’s cannabis laws.
Selling Cannabis in Alaska
You must be at least 21 years of age to sell legal Cannabis in Alaska. The state of Alaska has laws that regulate cannabis retailers. Unlicensed sellers can be prosecuted.
Illegal sales can be considered a Class C crime and could result in a $10,000 fine and five years imprisonment. As a gift, cannabis can be given to anyone over 21 years old. There are no penalties if there is no compensation and the amount of cannabis given is not more than one ounce.
Delivery of marijuana to anyone younger than 19 years old by someone who is three years or more their senior is a Class A felony. This can result in a maximum $100,00 fine and 10 years imprisonment. First degree controlled substance misconduct is when cannabis concentrate or hashish product are delivered under the same conditions. This offense is a felony that can lead to fines of up to $500,000 or 5-99 years imprisonment.
Manufacturing and Growing Cannabis in Alaska
Alaska’s marijuana laws allow adult to grow up to six cannabis plants simultaneously for personal, non-commercial use. Three of these plants cannot be matured. As long as the crops are in compliance with these conditions, growers can keep what they have harvested.
Without the use of optical aids such as plane of binoculars or aircraft of binoculars to see the plants, cannabis plants must not be visible to the general public. They also need to be protected from any unauthorized access. The cultivation property must be in the legal possession of the cultivator. A fine up to $750 can be imposed on anyone who violates Alaska’s marijuana growing laws.
According to the Alaska Constitution, growers can cultivate 25 cannabis plants in private homes for their personal use. It is a Class C crime to cultivate more than 25 cannabis plants within Alaska. You can face a fine of up to $50,000 or five years imprisonment.
Manufacturing THC concentrates or hashish with intent to distribute is a Class B third-degree felony involving controlled substances. This offense can result in a maximum $100,000 fine and a 3-year sentence in prison. Repeat offenders can face up to $50,000 in fines and 5-year imprisonment sentences.
Using Cannabis in Alaska
Smoking and vaping are two of the most common ways to consume cannabis. Both involve the use of different types of marijuana paraphernalia. These paraphernalia could include rolling papers, cigars, weed pipes and bongs. Alaska currently does not have any laws that regulate the sale, manufacture, or possession of paraphernalia.
It doesn’t matter how you consume cannabis, it is illegal to use it in public.
Breaking Cannabis Laws in Alaska
Alaska permits diversion sentencing, alternative sentencing, and conditional release for first-time offenders. The conditional release allows the offender to avoid trial and instead opt for probation. If sentencing is completed after probation, however, this will not be reflected in the offender’s criminal record.
Cannabis usage while driving in alaska
Alaska has passed a drugged driving statute. These laws prohibit drivers from operating motor vehicles while they are under the influence of drug metabolites or illicit drugs.
Forfeiture, and other factors
The state government can seize any property or vehicle used in violation of Alaska’s controlled substance laws. Within 20 days, property owners are notified about the seizure. The owners have 20 days to respond and claim their property.
All persons under the age of 18 who are caught with marijuana or possessing it, will have their driver’s and permit to drive revoked for six months. Also, Class C felonies include those who keep houses, vehicles, or other structures for the purpose of selling, using, storing, or transferring cannabis. These individuals can be fined up to $50,000 or sentenced to five years in prison.
Anyone who sells or gives marijuana to anyone who is under the influence of marijuana may be liable. Under Alaska’s marijuana laws, the seller or gift-giver are strictly responsible for any damages suffered by the user.